Confessions of a Grateful Human – Words Matter

Day 19

I’m thankful for consistently calling myself out on behavior that doesn’t serve me or my children, most particularly in regard to how I speak. My recent accountability is astounding. I’ll give you a little peek into sort of what I’m talking about. I say “sort of” because some of it is ethereal and just too hard to gauge. Sometimes it’s as simple as one word that needs elimination.

I’ve been using the word “ridiculous” at least 17 times a day for months, no exaggeration. This evening I caught myself saying it about half a dozen times in 2 hours! Paying careful attention to my words came from a message during my afternoon meditation. I heard in no uncertain terms that “words matter” and to “watch my words”. It was the voice of Kyle Cease, an inspirational speaker and meditator I respect. He conveyed that I’m making it hard to manifest stuff if I’m always talking like that, and if I want a change then I need to start with me.

Have you ever suddenly noticed that you’re complaining all day long, or that things always fall apart after you start grumbling? It happens to me every time. I’m aware it’s happening but can’t seem to control it. That’s about to change, because I know I’m in charge. I’ve been reminded that my words have power, that what I say carries energy that can change everything about my current reality. What I say to myself, my family, all of you on social media and the blog world, people I meet at the grocery store, carries a message. Is it going to be a message that serves me or knocks me on my ass? I get to decide.

I can hold a vision of myself living on my own land in my custom made geodesic dome, but will lose it when I talk like I’m a hopeless mess because the kids got ink all over their clothes while I was trying to cook, and I’m hungry, and blah, blah, blah. Notice a trend in my recent blogs? đŸ˜‰ No, really. It’s all starting to sound like blah x 3 when I’m moaning about one situation or another. Why not flip all of that around and appreciate the kiddos entertaining themselves for a long time while I cooked our yummy dinner? Reframing is just as important as watching words.

I made a choice today, to take back my power through what I say. I’m giving me energy to what’s working for me. How about you? What do you want? Does what you’re saying to yourself or others prevent you from living up to your fullest potential? What could you say instead? Drop a comment below with any insights or experience on that. Your words matter, too. ✨

1 thought on “Confessions of a Grateful Human – Words Matter”

Leave a comment