Confessions of a Grateful Human – Dance Party

Day 18

When all else fails, turn the music up and dance, dance, dance!

It’s been a long, exciting day for my kiddos, and I’m feeling it, too. Time spent with friends is well worth it, so I’m not complaining by any means. But it’s a recipe for disaster when we’re all tired and I’m attempting to feed the 3-year-old munchkin while under the impression that I can control her. She had a late nap, so her schedule is opposite of my big kid, who’s exhausted from her sleepover. After a gnarly screaming tug-o’-war over some coveted cape ownership, we all start in on dinner. Noa has maybe 2 bites of her burrito and is off and running. She does head stands on the couch. And the eating thing. Oh my Goddess. That kid will outright refuse, change her mind, only want one thing for a week, and the blah, blah, blah. I try all kinds of futile attempts at making her eat dinner. That’s the worst, because I know it doesn’t “work” and feels so yucky to tell her what I end up saying. My food issues often arise when my children don’t eat enough. But alas, I spontaneously find a solution.

Once I get the Bluetooth synced, we start our dance party. It’s like a magic elixir for us, including Noa who ends up eating nearly half of her burrito while shaking her booty. She’s got the moves, too.

I play some songs I plan to teach at my upcoming dance class. That’s when we all get a good laugh. Noa has been asking for a particular song all day. She keeps saying she wants to hear “Rapa Mexican Love Cake”. I have no clue what she’s talking about, but she sounds cute. Then Orion makes the connection that it’s Daft Punk’s “Get Lucky”. Mystery solved! We all laugh uproariously and enjoy getting our groove on while eating cookies.

Dancing heals the heart and soul. My accidental experiment proves it. She needs to move her body to shake her sillies out. We all need to lighten up, and music is transformative. I’m immensely grateful we can access the magic of music, that we move our bodies to the rhythm and we find serenity and joy.

If you haven’t danced today, what are you waiting for? Get up and move it, move it! I promise it won’t disappoint. πŸ’ƒπŸ»πŸŽΆβœ¨πŸ’œ

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Grateful Human – Dance Party”

Leave a comment