Buried Treasure – Midlife Changes

Day 3

I’ve entered a sort of limbo-type stage of life called perimenopause. Women heading toward menopause, bodies preparing for it, used to fumble around without any explanation, wondering what the hell is wrong with them. Now we’re beginning to talk about it a little more and support one another on this strange midlife journey. The hormonal fluctuations cause me to jump on an emotional roller coaster, get warm or hot flashes, and have less predicable menstrual cycles. Some people close to me don’t even believe I’m going through it. That kind of gaslighting happens for so many women. I’m telling you I’m not mentally unhinged, just hormonally challenged.

Here are the huge gifts. I’m sloughing off more than monthly blood. I’m removing layers of insecurities and other old habits and beliefs that no longer serve me. I’m growing in confidence. I left my need for approval back down the road somewhere. I’m beginning to speak my truth more often, telling people how I really feel without fear of rejection. I feel good about my body, despite its surprises for me. I feel empowered as a self-identified woman, and have an urge to encourage other womyn to stand in their truth and light.

I will soon be a crone. I don’t know when that will be. It could be a few years or a few months. I will no longer bear any children, but I will always be a mother. Sharing wisdom feels imminent. I hope that I’m already doing that to some extent. I’m an natural teacher, and this new role feels comfortable and familiar.

Who says midlife has to be difficult or painful? I’m enjoying myself and learning more than ever these days. For those of you here with me, embrace the change. Hold on, it gets even better. ❤️

2 thoughts on “Buried Treasure – Midlife Changes”

  1. Ditto for perimenopause here and I hope you are right about sloughing off the past as my current cycles are all over the map and way different than they were in my younger years! Have you read the Christiane Northrup book on Menopause? Some similar vibes to what you’ve said in there for sure, stuff more of us need to hear when going through these new rollercoaster rides… 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment. It always helps to know we are not alone! I’ve heard about Christiane Northrup’s book, and plan to add that to my reading list. Thanks for the reminder. 😊

      Like

Leave a comment